The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

My Dad.

October6

IMG-20141001-WA0010

Hardworking. Admirable. Adorable. 3 simple words, yet they have such depth and such resemblance to the kind of character my dad has. He is a shining example of how love makes you do the craziest things, such as sacrificing what you want to do, in order for your children to have a good life. My dad was studying to become a doctor when he married my mom, and he often tells me how much procrastination he had done during medical school. Now you may think, how could your father who procrastinated his way through medical school be your role model? It’s actually a very simple answer-Love. The amount of love and sacrifice he’s done for our family surprises me every day.

Let’s take it back to 1992 when my parents got married. My mom was just 18 years old when she got married, and she moved to Denmark, where my dad was currently residing. Imagine being an 18 year old and moving halfway across the world without your parents. At first, it was very hard for my mom to adjust to this new environment, but as time went on she learned to enjoy it.  My dad was born in Pakistan, but came out to Denmark at the age of 14. Once my dad graduated from high school he had no clue about what career he wanted to go into. My dad is a very laid back person, who doesn’t stress about anything and just goes with the flow. When my dad first came over to Denmark, life was hard for his family. They were living paycheck by paycheck, and my dad being the eldest child had a lot of responsibilities. This was a major factor that contributed to my dad going into the medical field. My grandfather (dad’s dad), made my dad go into medical because 1. They needed a steady income in the household 2. My grandfather wanted a good life for not only himself, but also for all of his children. In Pakistan, my dad’s family wasn’t very well off, and I feel like my grandfather’s intention once he came to Denmark was to make sure his children went into fields where income was very high, so they could provide for their families.

Time went on, and before you know it, it’s November of 1998. 6 years since my parents got married, and 6 years of my mom convincing my dad to move back to Canada. Her wish finally came true that year, and so we were off to Canada. However, Canada had different plans for my dad, and they wouldn’t allow him to him to work here because he got his education from Denmark. This was the beginning of my dad consecutively travelling back and forth from Calgary to Scandinavia.

15 years later and we’re still in the exact same situation. Although, the situation/circumstance has become a norm in my life, my heart still breaks whenever I have to say goodbye to my dad. This situation that I call my life is why my dad is my inspiration. I’ve never seen any individual in my life who has such an enormous amount of love for their family. I know that my dad loves being a doctor, but I also know that he doesn’t want to always be on call 24/7, and he does it because he wants his kids to have a good life.

I may be bias, but my dad is the BEST one out there. He may not be there for my birthdays, but the amount of love I receive from him makes missing birthdays acceptable. I hope one day to find that amount of love for my own family, and be willing to sacrifice everything for my family.

Humble. Selfless. Loveable. 3 words that sum up what my dad has shown/taught me ever since I was a kid.

I Love you Dad.

by posted under 2015, Daania, Uncategorized | 4 Comments »    
4 Comments to

“My Dad.”

  1. November 7th, 2014 at 3:19 pm      Reply sidrazi Says:

    Dear Daania,
    Reading your blog truly inspired me to appreciate the family members I have with me now. I was motivated by how strong you are with dealing with your dad’s absence in your life and being able to come to peace with that part of your life. Although I don’t know you or your father very well, by reading this, I now have a greater understanding of the connection you two share. Your ability to touch your audience’s hearts with your writing is very impressive.
    Some points in your writing that you might want to consider improving on is making your writing more sophisticated. Although this is a personal piece, sophisticated word choices would greatly improve the context of this blog.
    After reading this blog, I view the way I see you differently. I now understand that you have more strength than a lot of others kids in your grade and not having someone important in your life has shaped the identity you have now.
    Sincerely,
    Sidra


  2. November 18th, 2014 at 8:48 pm      Reply alishad Says:

    Dear Daania,
    I loved this!The way you tied it together, the voice you created for yourself in your blog was spectacular. Honestly reading this made me feel, very deeply towards your situation. I definitely know how it feels to be so far away from someone, who means so much to you. It truly comes down to, appreciating and taking advantage of the loved ones you have. I know the way you feel about your Dad, and the relationship between Dad and Daughter is a beautiful thing. When you say,”He may not be there for my birthdays, but the amount of love I receive from him makes missing birthdays acceptable.” This was a definitely a touching sentence. Honestly the amount of Unconditional love you have for each other is wonderful.
    Every masterpiece needs improvements, for yours you just needed to fix some sentences to make them more complex and detailed. Making clear and precise sentences flow much better.
    Towards who you are as your blogging identity and your writing, you have a distinct way of saying things. I like the way you make it seem as if this was a letter you wrote to your dad. As well as the way, you briefly sum up the humble characteristics and traits that your father is but has shown to you.
    I really look forward to reading more! Great Job
    Sincerely,
    Alisha


  3. January 15th, 2015 at 1:34 pm      Reply ishmeet Says:

    Dear Daania,
    I love how you based your blog on your real life, connecting it to the absence of your dad! It is really nice to see the relationship between you and your dad is filled with love; despite that you do not get to see him that often. This blog really inspired me to spend time with my family and love te individuals surrounding me. I understand your situatiion even better now although I know you for two years and I really appriciate how this blog brings out a very strong motif of love.

    To improve I would suggest adding complex and compound sentaces and improving some words. Adding a better syntax structure will definately improve your blog.

    Overall, this was a very motivational piece! I hope you continue to write blogs like these!


  4. January 20th, 2015 at 2:45 pm      Reply Roshni Says:

    Dear Daania,

    I really love how laid back your writing is in this blog; you aren’t trying to make the wording so complicated that they lose the main idea, you’re making it so that they’re able to see exactly where you’re coming from. The portion where you talked about having to say goodbye to your dad time and time again honestly broke my heart, because I have had to do the same and I know just how hard it is. I’d heard about your dad’s situation before, but after reading this I understand it a lot more.

    To work on I’d suggest that you look over your typing again to make sure there aren’t any errors regarding spacing; for example, “a very simple answer-Love”

    Overall, I loved the concept of your blog and how it was written! It takes guts to share your family’s story, something I’m definitely not comfortable with, so I commend you.

    – Roshni 🙂


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
October 2014
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories



Skip to toolbar