The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

The Beginning of My Journey to Success

January25

With Language Arts coming to a close it is time to reflect on how I have enhanced my skills this year. This semester provided me with a clear path of what I need to work on by next year. I was also fortunate enough to be given an opportunity to work with a dedicated and amazing teacher. During this semester I had taken note of my strengths and weaknesses in this course and I based my goals from this information. I was able to distinguish my growth as a student while seeing improvements in my writing , reading, and learning ability.

I am very proud to say that I have grown as a reader. I am extremely picky with my books and usually I spend more time finding a book than actually reading one.  This semester I was able to read four books which is a record for me. I really want to boost that number up by next year. I plan to read more books  during the upcoming semester and even during the summer. I want to increase how many books I read during a year since I was personally not satisfied with the amount of books I read in 2014. I thought I should engage in books with the genre of fiction and mystery since I love reading books with this content.I also realized when I am reading I can now analyze the text in the novel I am reading. I can recollect information  from previous passages and apply it further in the novel. I noticed that their was a significant change in my reading this year and I am quite content with this development.

I have also noticed a significant difference in my writing since the beginning of this semester. I have learned to use my resources that I have been provided with such as a thesaurus and dictionary. I also noticed by using these resources my marks have changed completely which is fantastic. By broadening my vocab in my writing I was also able to make my writing sound more like my grade level rather than a kindergarten student. I am able to apply a lot of the literary terms that I have learned this year. I want to start working on my sentence structure to make an extremely powerful piece one day. I know for a fact that sentence structure has a huge impact on making a bold statement and creating a force of tension which I want to create. I also discovered that I fancy Edgar Allen Poe writing because of the content of mystery and strange attributes it has. However I also realized the amount of analyzing that is involved in his writing. I wish to continue reading his dark stories since they are so intriguing. Overall I have improved a lot with my writing and gradually it will hopefully be even better than what  it is currently.

I definitely had some challenges as a learner during the beginning of this semester however I have noticed progress in my learning skills. Usually it takes me quite awhile to understand concepts except for this class. I was quite quick to comprehend the reasoning and purpose of why we are learning something, and it was quite easy connect with the resources I was given.  I am best at learning acronyms and novel studies.  I struggle with writing mechanics and keeping up with my reading habits, except I have recognized a progress in these gaps because of what I had learned during class. If I was a teacher there is not one change I would make to Hunnisett’s way of teaching except reducing the amount of homework we get, of course. Otherwise when we discuss my learning, I have seen such a major difference that I am quite impressed with myself.

This is the first time in many years that I have a teacher who was actually passionate about Language Arts and who inspired me to work my hardest in this course. I have learned so much in these past few months and I owe it all to my teacher. I have never felt so proud of myself while doing a specific course.  I have learned so much in this short time about poems , short stories, and so much more. I have learned about how people can transform a catastrophe into something so beautiful in words. Thank you so much HunniHunni for becoming my role model and my inspiration. You have changed my way of thinking in many ways which you will not understand. I am going to miss this class a lot since it was the only thing I looked forward too during first semester. Thank you once again!

by posted under Asna, Uncategorized | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
January 2015
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories



Skip to toolbar