The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

Unforeseen Life Lessons with Ms. Hunnisett

January25

Transitioning from 9th to 10th grade is quite nerve-wracking for someone that finds peace in routine, someone like me. Coming into my 10th year of schooling I was afraid of all the unexpected changes I was about to encounter: the new people, classrooms, and the most terrifying change of all, new teachers. People had told me that Ms. Hunnisett was one of the nicest teachers you could have, but I didn’t believe much of what they said until I got to experience her, and her style of teaching, firsthand. Her approach was less head-on, more of a “here’s your assignment, now you choose how to do it” type of technique, which I found to be both effective and fun, mainly do to the fact that I’ve spent the last 10 or so years being taught in an autocratic style. In just one short semester of ELA 10-1 with this remarkable teacher I’ve grown not only as a writer, but as a reader and a learner as well.

Although I don’t aspire to become a writer in any way, being able to find my own writing style was a goal of mine coming into ELA 10, because it would help me with future writing assignments I’d have to complete in my upcoming high school journey, and I think I’ve done it. I say think because nothing is definite when it comes to learning; my level of understanding on everything in the world around me will only increase with years to come, so I’ve found that it’s best not to close myself off from new views and ideas. For now, my newfound style of writing is something I’m happy with.

Another thing that I’ve learned about myself when it comes to writing is that I enjoy reading the work of writers that is somewhat unorthodox; writing that doesn’t follow any rules like joining clauses, or making sure that a participle phrase clearly refers to a proper subject, or using parallel construction to make a strong point and create smooth flow. I understand that these rules are set for a reason, but not all writers follow them, and that’s what makes them more fun for me to read. Being able to write is a required skill most people need in order to get a job, but it’s that want to write, that urge to convey your thoughts in written form for others to read, that distinguishes true writers apart from everyone just trying to get by.

I’ve always loved reading, yet I’ve never been much of a reader, and that hasn’t changed too much this year; however, I now know that I haven’t been challenging myself enough when it comes to reading. I’ve learned that I haven’t been as into reading because the novels I have been reading have been short and basic when it comes to vocabulary (which may surprise some considering my overall vocabulary level). This year I’ve come to know that reading helps you learn in many ways; for example, it helps you grow your vocabulary, and learn life lessons that are indirectly taught through the themes of different novels. With this in mind, I’ve made it my goal to read more challenging books in the years to come.

So Ms. Hunnisett has helped me find my voice when it comes to writing, and taught me the importance of reading, but how is it possible to teach someone how to learn? The process of learning isn’t something that people are taught from a young age, it’s just something we all do. My way of learning has always been direct. I’ve always done things the way I’ve seen them done, never stopping to question “Why that way?” or “What if…”, and I would’ve continued to think like this had I not met the sensational, Ms. Hunnisett.

Ever since the second week of school, when we started doing Say/Mean/Matter charts for our film study, I’ve been fascinated by the way she thinks, the way she sees everything around her. She’s taught me that even the simplest pieces have deeper meaning and many stories of their own to tell. Words can’t describe how much she has changed my way of thinking, because of her my perception of life has become so much more positive. For the first time in my life I’m not worried about my marks or my grades or my future, which is something I’ve been dreaming of for years. Ms. Hunnisett, you turned an otherwise unmemorable semester into some of the most unforgettable 5 months of my life, and for that the only thing I can say is

thank you.

 

by posted under Roshni | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“Unforeseen Life Lessons with Ms. Hunnisett”

  1. January 25th, 2015 at 4:53 pm      Reply Ms. Hunni Says:

    Kiddo – you just made an ol’ lady mighty verklempt! Thank you for such a humbling tribute! The admiration is mutual. I, too, love how your brain works and it has been awe-inspiring to bask in your growth as a reader, writer, and learner – not to mention one heck of an amazing young lady! May our paths continue to cross again and again!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
January 2015
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories



Skip to toolbar