The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

Realization of Passion

January29

I’ll be honest with you; walking into language arts class at the beginning of this school year, my initial vision of what to expect was very unclear. After years of sitting in class and writing while listening to mono-toned teachers read stories until the bell rang, I was not too excited about learning, period. However, my journey as a learner, reader, and writer this year has particularly allowed me to understand the importance of consistency and hard work. Of course, revision is also of high importance, as Mrs. Hunnisett says. Through this growth, I have also realized my passion for learning, reading, and writing through which I am able to grow in knowledge and wisdom about myself and the world around me.

Learner 2

Similar to everyone else, several areas of my life are occupied by both strengths and weaknesses. As a learner, however, a strength which I possess that has truly allowed me to achieve growth is my ability to accept and acknowledge constructive criticism. Often times, when writing, for example, I strive to learn of the adjustments that can be made which will improve my skills. Nonetheless, a weakness of mine is my pace of reading. Being the slow reader I am, requires me to re-read a prompt several times to fully grasp the concept and absorb all the necessary and additional information. Therefore, my goal is to transform this weakness into a strength.

Consistency is crucial in growing as a learner; it is important to constantly revise mistakes so that one can grow further. In my case, maintaining my reading consistency in the future will allow me to become more skilled at reading comprehension. My realization of my passion for learning has allowed me to become more enthusiastic about attending not only LA class, but also school in general. I have developed an interest in achieving true understanding about others, myself, and the world around me.

Learner 3

I started to lose the appeal to read during my early teen years. During my free time, I would do anything and everything but read. After realizing that it was a mandatory task in order for me to progress well in LA, I began to read during the summer before 10th grade. An interest in reading began to initiate in me as realized the benefits, both mental and spiritual.

Personally, I have grown to love realistic fiction books; they allow readers to understand the circumstances of others. Those in Western countries often do not realize the tragic events and occurrences that take place throughout the world. Realistic stories like A Thousand Splendid Suns and Sold speak out about the lives of many wounded individuals.

However, during the beginning of the year, I struggled with reading comprehension, especially in terms of understanding non-fictional texts, although they are fairly simple. I understood that if not consistent, it is very hard to pick up a book and become consistent again. As I began to read more, I gained an appreciation for writers in general, and attained an interest in learning more about the world around me. I plan on reading more books frequently and consistently, thus improving my reading comprehension and knowledge.

Writer 2

Just like reading, writing was not a hobby which I was interested in. As writing became a constant requirement and hobby in Language Arts class, I began to find an attraction in placing my thoughts onto paper. I have developed an unimagined passion for writing. Never would I have thought that it would be something which would bring happiness to my soul. Although I am not particularly strong in speaking, I find it undeniably simple to express my feelings through writing in a way that I am not able to do through anything else, other than through drawing. The first piece I wrote this year through which I realized my love for writing is my piece called LightAs I was writing this, I realized that it had much to do with a lot that I endured the year before.

As my love for writing grows stronger, I would like to share more about my experiences: my joys, my sorrows, my aha’s in life. It would be an absolute blessing to get the opportunity to write and publish my own book and touch the lives of others.

My shift from an initial stage of boredom to a state of excitement to learn, read, and write has heightened my expectations for future LA classes. The attentive behavior, fellowship, and acceptance of students in the class I attended this year with have allowed me to gain an appreciation for different values and opinions. My realization of my passion of learning, reading, and specifically writing, has definitely encouraged me to seek growth as a student, a friend, a daughter, and a sister. As my expectations are fairly high now, I pray that I will be blessed with a similar, if not, the same class in the upcoming years. I am truly thankful for such a wonderful journey and experience in which I was given a marvelous opportunity to learn, grow, realize, and share.

by posted under Carolin, Uncategorized | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
January 2015
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories



Skip to toolbar