The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

Leisure Reading Letter: “Tuesdays with Morrie”

November22

Dear Melisa,

I know we haven’t seen each other in awhile, well actually about 3 months but I still know you like the back of my hand and how you always love to be right. In the past few weeks I have been reading “Tuesdays with Morrie”, I know me reading kind of a scary thought, but it reminds me of you in many ways! First off he is quite stubborn, but on the other hand he is strong and persevering (like how you always said you wanted your husband to be like!) But anyways getting back on subject, Morrie Schwartz is a wise old professor who has just found out he is going to die from ALS. Shocker I know! Any who he has gotten quite famous over this news because what he has learned throughout his sickness and what he is teaching to others has made it on ‘Nightline’ television to share his story and experience so far. His optimism is enlightening through his story. While on the other side of this, his old student Mitch Albom is flipping channels and hears about this tragedy. Which there by guilt’s his conscience to go see his old “coach” as Mitch called Morrie.

This book covers many themes: acceptance, communication, love, values, openness, and happiness. Which are all relevant to everyday life for any average person or any person at all. The reason I chose to write this to you was because you have been my role model and my friend/cousin my whole life and of all the people you have been the wisest in my light. So I decided I would return the favor and give you some pointers for the next few years of your life since you are now graduating. One memorable quote from this book would be when Morrie quotes, “love each other or perish” (91), I believe this is a very powerful quote because if you are not here to love and support others why are you here? You are not contributing to the survival and continuation of man-kind. Through the last few months of his life before he dies Morrie and Mitch become close again as they once were; with Mitch flying out from Michigan to Massachusetts to see Morrie every Tuesday to learn his wisdom, take his lectures, hear his life story and also relives the past with flashbacks.  This reminds me of when you use to tell me stories so I would stay out of trouble and do what’s right. Like when it comes to boys… “you just have to…”.

So a little birdie, your great mom, has mentioned you are now in a relationship! What is it, 7 months now? I want to say congrats and that “love is when you are as concerned about the other person as you are yourself” (178). Keep this in mind during your long endeavors relationship! You have to keep open minded and see both sides! Be sure to care about his feelings as well as yours when it comes to decision making for you too I know you kind of like to take control…  but let yourself live and feel and love as you don’t know when it will end. But as Morrie Schwartz once said, “Love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone.”

by posted under Alyssa | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“Leisure Reading Letter: “Tuesdays with Morrie””

  1. November 27th, 2011 at 8:07 pm      Reply edenm Says:

    Alyssa, I think this letter provides many deep thought provoking ideas; especially with the quotes. This letter also serves a great meaning and gives light to ideas that we tend to forget as we grow older. I love how you connected the story to your friend/cousin’s life and her relationship. I think it will help her get through any tough times she might have. GREAT JOB!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
November 2011
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories



Skip to toolbar