The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

Hidden Lessons Essay

February20

In David Suzuki’s essay Hidden Lessons, he talks about people who live in urban cities that loses natures sense; including myself as a city boy. Since I was born in Calgary, I’ve been exposed to man made products, city lights, houses and electricity. I haven’t encountered any insects, mice, snakes and worms at the time. Many have complimented me as, “Oh look at that cute little boy,” or, “awe isn’t he such a charmer,” and that’s what I thought a mere insect was as well.

Here is a story about myself as a child; in the summer of 2000, my family had brought me outdoor camping for the very first time. It was a very exciting, and adventurous memory of tenting, hiking, swimming, skipping, and I mustn’t forget firelighting. If you were an adventurer like myself, you would remember the vast majority of insects crawling under toes, the crunching of roaches, the buzzing of bees, and the flutter of wings all around the zone. At first insects are such tiny pets that follow you everywhere you go; Well that’s what I thought until my father had driven insane by the quantity of mosquitoes in our tent. He went wild with the swapper, raging at everything he saw; including me! Suddenly I became so curious of the fact of why my father was gasping for air in the swarm of locust was so dramatic. Soon after, I realised that bugs could crawl under skins, infecting every part of your body with venom and killing everything they target. And not just one creepy crawler could be around you, thousands are all around you, from head to toe!

If you really knew me, my biggest fear is insects, not just the big ones, but also the teeny tiny ones too! Experiencing and adapting to my father’s fear of insects and spiders, I’ve now copied that fear from my role model. From David Suzuki’s essay on Hidden Lessons, I now know that the fear of dirt, and crawlers come from older generations. As well as figuring out the hidden lesson, I will teach my children to overcome that fear that we have passed down. Perhaps the hidden lesson would not be as hidden anymore!

 

by posted under Ryan | 4 Comments »    
4 Comments to

“Hidden Lessons Essay”

  1. February 24th, 2012 at 12:31 pm      Reply Mady Toyne Says:

    Woahh Ryan ; Your a babe . I like how you didnt just explain what he was trying to say , but you gave a personal example to make it more intresting. (:


  2. February 26th, 2012 at 8:08 pm      Reply breannamil Says:

    Ryan i really like your essay!! It was very well written and i liked the example that you used!!! Great job 🙂


  3. March 2nd, 2012 at 9:57 pm      Reply sanyasha Says:

    Wow Ryan! I really liked your essay! It was well written and kept me engaged! 🙂


  4. June 12th, 2012 at 7:26 pm      Reply celeste Says:

    Ryan you did a great job on getting your point across, and your description was very vivid! Thanks for the little story as well the beginning made me laugh but then…yeah ANYWAYS keep up the great job!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
February 2012
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

Categories



Skip to toolbar