The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

Fate

March18

Romeo and Juliet is about how two “star-crossed lovers” from different houses, that constantly fought, and how these two “star-crossed lovers” brought the houses together and the Capulet’s and Montague settled their differences and accepted each other. I feel that throughout this whole play the theme is fate. The reason why I feel that it is fate is because I feel that fate brought them together not to fall in love, but to show their parents that fighting with each other killed them and that it has to stop. I never really looked at Romeo and Juliet with a perspective I just read it and passed the tests that came with it. Now that I think of it makes more sense and it surprises me of how much I missed. Fate is the concept that everything happens for a reason and that your whole life is written in a book. You cannot rewrite this book or edit it in anyway. The pages keep flipping as your life goes on. The books keep continuing as your life goes on, but when you end so do the books.

I feel the reason why they were called “star-crossed” lovers was because they were meant to be and that their star crossed each other. This meant that they were born to fall in love with each other, but at the same time help, their families become one. I have always believed in fate and how everything happens for a reason and that, you should just accept it. When I was younger, my parents always taught me that everything that happens, happens for a reason. I never really accepted it I always thought that stuff was dumb and stupid, but as I grew older, I started to learn that fate was real and that stuff does happen for a reason. It might seem like the end of the world but it can always bring happiness. I feel that in Romeo and Juliet fate played a huge role in it. Romeo was in love with Rosaline, but she did not like him, which made him depressed but when he learnt that Rosaline was going to the party he wanted to go too even though it was a Capulet’s party. That is where he meets Juliet and they fall in love instantly; therefore, I feel that fate made it so Rosaline would not love Romeo so that Romeo could go to the party so fate could bring Juliet and Romeo together.

In Juliet’s case, I think fate played a huge role because Paris really wanted to marry her, but her father did not want her to leave him so quickly because she was his only daughter and he did not want to lose her. When Capulet says “The earth swallow`d all my hopes but she”, he is talking about how they have lost many infants before and he was not ready to lose her because she was his only daughter and she was only twelve years old. I think that fate made it so that he could only have one daughter and no more, so that he could he would throw the party because he wanted her to be happy and make the decision whether she wanted to marry Paris or not and at that party, she met Romeo. I think that hey were destined to fall in love and help their families realize that they are not different at all.

Fate is a very strong concept in this play and is the base of the storyline and it shapes the characters and what happens to them and what they do. I personally do believe in fate and I believe that what happened between them was not only for them to fall in love but also to stop the conflict that was going on between Montague’s and Capulet’s and show that if this keeps going on they are going hurt the people that they love the most. In Elizabethan time fate everyone believed in fate and that, everything happens for a reason and that really shows in Romeo and Juliet.

by posted under Simrat | 5 Comments »    
5 Comments to

“Fate”

  1. March 18th, 2012 at 7:18 pm      Reply breannamil Says:

    Simrat! I really like your essay. you really expressed the motif of fate and it worked perfectly with the topic of Romeo and Juliet! Good Job 🙂


  2. March 18th, 2012 at 10:44 pm      Reply Boss Lowon Says:

    What a wonderful essay Simrat! I really love your perspective on fate, and relating it to Romeo and Juliet! It seems like you’ve got your emotions out full-heartedly and set onto this essay! 🙂 Great job!


  3. March 31st, 2012 at 2:52 pm      Reply Sapideh Says:

    I think you’re ideas and thoughts on Romeo and Juliet flowed very well with your writing, and I love how you did share your ideas with us !! (:


  4. April 15th, 2012 at 11:53 pm      Reply squeekykiwi Says:

    Simrat, its always a joy to read your writing pieces. not only because you always seem to capture my attention with the wonderful connections you make, but because of your stynax and grasp of the concepts. A little piece of you is always present in your writing pieces such as this one, and that gives it such a meaningful feel. You are so amazing, Keep up the awesome!


  5. June 19th, 2012 at 9:04 pm      Reply simrat Says:

    Thanks everyone so much! It means a lot to me when I find out that poeple enjoy what I write!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
March 2012
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories



Skip to toolbar