The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

The Hunger Games.

October28

Dear Hamza,

At the beginning of this year I read the novel The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins in ELA and I got to learn a lot from it; it’s all about adventure survival. Being the type of person you are I know an adventure and survival novel will keep you engaged and excited to know what’s coming up next in your reading. Which is why I think you would enjoy reading this interesting novel.  The Hunger Games is a novel at a candy level which means that it is very easy to read and understand the main topic/theme of the novel.

This very engaging novel is something that I really enjoyed reading because of how I can relate to it. I relate to this novel because I am someone who always likes an adventure. In this novel the main character was on a survival mission which lead to an amazing adventure, an adventure she cannot forget in her entire life time. That adventure was very horrific and engaging because the whole point of the adventure was to survive and make it through. As we both you know we love to be in situations that keep us going just to make it through.

This quote is all about how she can make it through and persevere.   “For the first time, I allow myself to truly think about the possibility that I might make it home.” 

This novel also relates to me because the main character of this book is someone who likes to be the person taking control. As you know me I love taking control of things, and so do you. It thought me that it isn’t always about ourselves but about other people as well. The most important thing I got out of this novel was that when a loved is in trouble or needs us to do something we should always be there for them and help them through their problem so that they can be happy.

“You’re not going to die. I forbid it. All right?”
“All right,” he whispers.” 

The quote above is from the novel, it repeats what I said previously about having to put yourself aside to help someone to keep them happy. Katniss was someone who always did that, she even put herself at stake to help others. I believe that I myself am a person that does that and so are you. That one aspect of the protagonist is something that kept me engaged into the novel. I kept wondering what she would do next to help others and what would be the outcome of that.

Hamza, this is a great novel. I hope you enjoy it!

by posted under Gagan, Uncategorized | 1 Comment »    
One Comment to

“The Hunger Games.”

  1. November 4th, 2012 at 2:30 pm      Reply bilawal Says:

    Dear Gagan:
    This letter of yours is truly a well written piece that is well organized from the beginning intro up till the conclusion sentence. Keeping your ideas and thoughts organized helps the piece flow better and indicates how well thought it was. Also, giving evidence is always a driving force in backing up your statement and is the key towards writing a well-written piece.
    However, some places lack descripition which can harm the quality of a persuasive letter. “As we both you know we love to be in situations that keep us going just to make it through.” I think by describing how and why you and Hamza love adventurous situations, can enhance the background knowledge which can click the memories he had with you to make this letter even more influential. Also, revising this letter once or twice after can reduce the errors you made in this letter. In the above quote, the “you” in the above quote is meaningless and removing it would make the sentence flow better. Adding commas where needed can give the reader a feel of where to pause instead of confusing the reader. The above sentence needs a comma after ” We both know,…”. By going over this letter once or twice can reduce the number of mistakes made by a margin. All in all, these errors can harm the format of this letter but not the overall purpose. By fixing these errors, you can make this letter an ever more persuasive letter.

    Sincerely, Bill


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
October 2012
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories



Skip to toolbar