The Hunni Blog ELA 10

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline

I Love My Country

January11

I Love My Country

I sat at the back of a dark, solitary classroom while scraping the edge of my wooden desk with a pencil. The exams were being handed out, when at last its unworthy face was laid in front of me. I wrote December 16, 2014 on my Second Year Physics Exam, which lay desperately in front of me, while agitation was being built up inside my stomach. The exam was awaiting an answer to be made on its fresh page covered with Newton and Pascal’s law questions. My body started to increase in adrenaline and my face portrayed a feeling of anguish and fear.

I brought my attention to the other students in the room; Ibrahim, Abu Bakr and Aalim. They all seemed afraid. At least I wasn’t the only one.

I contemplated upon the grey tiled roof, in the hope of inspiration. There was none. Why hadn’t I studied for this exam in the first place? Maybe because the headmistress kept me after school to do a hundred suicides, as a consequence for being late to Math class.

My agitation broke into a jolt of exasperation, when a thunder started evolving beneath the classroom floor. A crackling of about forty-five bullet shots erupted. The silence in the classroom remained. Mrs. Asiya looked side to side, telling us to remain quiet. The boys started whispering to each other. Once again, the thunder grew, much frightening than the previous one.  Commotion broke out.

Mrs. Asiya hushed us, signalling us to take cover by the back wall of the classroom near the bleach smelling closet.  I had never experienced such an adrenaline rush before. Abu Bakr who was the most brave out of all of us, was today red in the face, leaning against the back wall, while his breath quickened like the rapid clapping of a chicken’s wing’s when it is about to be slaughtered. I held his hand, in hope that his body warmth would comfort my soul.

Another twenty bullets flared into the air, but this time it was much near, as though its heat was violently pressuring my soul.  It seemed to have come from Mrs. Aisha’s Grade 6 students’ beside our classroom. There was a daunted howling of children. My heart started beating like a prey hiding from its malevolent predator.

We all stuffed our green ties into our mouths in fear of screaming, so whomever it was arousing the fear within us, couldn’t hear our despair and dread that was wanting to escape, in the form of an abominable scream.

I alleviated myself. I cautioned myself. I consoled myself. I knew our school was under attack. Telling myself that I was trained in an army school. I have been trained with effort to establish courage, fortitude and immense love for my country, so I will be regarded valiant and heroic when dying for my country.  So I will not feel regret when my life has ended at a young age. I may not have the muscle, but what I do have, is the strong love for my country.

Five minutes later, while I was still keeping grasp of Abu Bakr’s hand the stomping of heavy boots bombarded through our classroom door. Standing in front of us were three men wearing Pakistani army uniforms and holding Ak-47’s. A feeling of joy and relief struck my classmates and I. We were saved alas. Mrs. Asiya stood up and smiled, she seemed to be in the same state of joy as we were in.

One of the men started laughing, maybe because we were smiling in such a violent situation. We were undoubtedly confused.

Ibrahim also laughed along, he couldn’t bare not laughing, when another was laughing. The minute of happiness was broken from our recovering hearts when Ibrahim was bulleted down by the man. His youthful face was now streaked with blood and a faded smile.

Ibrahim didn’t make a sound and fell to the ground. Tears fell upon my cheeks.  Vengeance and enmity struck me.

“Kill me first!” said Mrs. Asiya abruptly, as tears soaked upon her red dupatta.

“Burn her!” said one of the men. Mrs. Asiya didn’t say anything. Her tears continued, but her weeping of sorrow from within came to a halt.  She stood there, as the lit match fell on her shirt. She closed her eyes while screams of pain fled her very soul.

These men were rebels, rebels I say! No compassion, mercy or kindness to even a young woman. What a shame!

Then it was our turn, the terror travelled in a line starting from Abu Bakr all the way to me. I closed my eyes waiting for these vengeful creatures to shoot me. If only, I could attack them somehow? But, there were three men. I didn’t know exactly what stopped me from killing these creatures.

My physics exam swiftly fell to the ground as the gun was pointed towards my chest. My rage and bravery had a fierce combat with the bullet that was piercing through my chest and abdomen. The blood fled from my body at the speed of the tears leaking from my eyes. My pulse fastened. My lungs gasped for air. I scraped my nails into the pond of blood that was forming on the floor.

I was astonished at the violent ending of my life, but I was not afraid. I was calm, because I am a defender, a lover and a soldier who died for my country.

I am a Pakistani Soldier. I love my country and now I have given back.  With a quiet whisper, I spoke these last words so no rebel could hear, only the graceful angels could here that were coming down from heaven to take our heroic souls.

Writer’s Note: On December 16th, 2014 nine members from the Tehrik-I-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) attacked the Peshawar Army Public School. Over 140 teachers and students who were present in the school were massacred. This blog was written as a fictional experience of one of the children who died in the attack. Let us hope the best for these children and the children who survived. We can hope that the families of those massacred to be given patience to go through such mourning over the loss of their youthful children. This was a dreadful happening that happened in Peshawar, Pakistan. Let’s keep firm faith and belief in the safety of every child throughout the world.

_79785297_79785296

Photo: http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-30505504

 

by posted under Mah Noor, Uncategorized | 9 Comments »    
9 Comments to

“I Love My Country”

  1. January 12th, 2015 at 6:08 pm      Reply carolinck Says:

    Dear Mah noor,
    This piece was beautifully written! I absolutely love your style of writing. As I began to read this, I really felt that I was in the room with those innocent children. Events like these are truly tragic; your writing, however, allowed me to conceptualize an idea of what many of these victims of terrorism may have experienced. It really is difficult for those of us who live in developed countries like Canada to comprehend the extent of terror which occurs on a day to day basis in places throughout the world. Kudos to your ability to seeing things from others’ perspective!

    One thing I would suggest you to keep in mind is the structure of your first person point of view. I understand that this point of view allows readers to really understand the tragedy of such situations; however, the death of the character was a bit awkward, as he/she refers to the death of himself/herself. Other than that, this was fantastic!

    Overall, I loved this piece; I feel that you are very opinionated on events like these, so I encourage you to keep writing on such incidents. Keep up the amazing work.

    Love,
    Carolin


  2. January 15th, 2015 at 1:00 pm      Reply cayleigh Says:

    Dear Mah Noor,

    This piece brought tears to my eyes. It is so powerful, I could visualize exactly what you were trying to convey. I loved your desription and the perspective you gave me from this blog was one I havent ever considered before. Thank you for that experience. The only thing I would improve upon was the wording and explanation in the last paragraph. Overall though, I loved what you wrote.

    Sincerely,
    Cayleigh


    • January 17th, 2015 at 7:20 pm      Reply mahnoori Says:

      Dear Cayleigh,

      I am so happy to see that you could deeply understand the sorrow within this piece and the disturbing occurrence that happened in Peshawar. I just hope the families of those who died, be given patience.

      Thanks for letting me know that my last paragraph put you off, I will totally take that into consideration when fixing this blog and through my future blogs.

      Once again, thanks for reading my blog.

      Sincerely,
      Mah Noor


  3. January 15th, 2015 at 1:10 pm      Reply ishmeet Says:

    Dear Mah Noor,
    This blog was a fantasic piece based on an unfortunate real life event that took place recently. I loved your explict use of imagery which described the surroundings of the character really well. Events like these are extremely disappointing and create a senstaion of fear, which was evident in your fictional piece. This blog made me think about the loss of humanity that can lead to certain events like these. Your ability to make a fictional piece out of a real life event is amazing!

    This is one of my favorite blogs. I hope you continue to write inspiring blogs like these!

    Sincerely,
    Ishmeet


    • January 17th, 2015 at 7:23 pm      Reply mahnoori Says:

      Dear Ishmeet,

      First of all I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart that you could understand this piece and connect with my feelings when writing this piece.

      Secondly, I am glad to hear that you got a message out of this through a general approach.

      May the families of those dead in this occurrence, be given patience,

      Sincerely,
      Mah Noor


  4. January 15th, 2015 at 1:33 pm      Reply alishad Says:

    Dear, MahNoor
    You are an astonishing writer!
    You made me feel as if I was sitting in the room and writing that exam. The way you describe how the character is feeling by comparing it with other relatable ides as seen in “My heart started beating like a prey hiding from its malevolent predator.” Through you writing you made me feel anxious as well as sorrowful, I was empowered by your piece. I am impressed by your creative side in whiling to take this situation/event into your own perspective as if you were there. Your writing has a distinct style of writing in how you use examples making the idea more understandable by everyone. Giving everyone the gift of imagining themselves within that event.
    I encourage you to continue making these personal blogs on real incidents more often! Truly an amazing job MahNoor.
    Your friend,
    Alisha


    • January 17th, 2015 at 7:26 pm      Reply mahnoori Says:

      Dear Alisha,

      I am so thankful to you for reading my blog and I am so glad that you were able to connect to it from the deepest of your heart. I hope I can write more blogs like these, but above that I wish horrifying occurrences like these would never happen again.

      Sincerely,
      Your friend,
      Mah Noor


  5. January 17th, 2015 at 12:21 am      Reply gurnoork Says:

    Dear Mah Noor,
    This blog was very well written. I love the description you used the word choices, the style of writing. Everything was perfect. It felt like I was right there and everything was happening right in front of me. I hate it when people kill innocent people just to take revenge. Violence can never kill hatred only love can kill hatred. I loved what you wrote. It felt like I was reading a university student”s blog. It was really good. Good job and keep writing!
    Sincerely,
    Gurnoor


    • January 17th, 2015 at 7:30 pm      Reply mahnoori Says:

      Dear Gurnoor,

      Thanks so much for reading my blog, it means a lot to me. I am also very glad you understand the deep message of my blog. I totally agree with you for that violence can never kill enmity, but only love can, what a beautiful observation.

      Thanks for the compliments. I hope I get to write more blogs like these, but then again I hope that petrifying experiences like these would never happen.

      Sincerely,
      Mah Noor


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Class Blogs


BLOGGING RULES

Community Communication Trust Respect Courtesy Integrity Scholarship Self-Discipline
January 2015
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories



Skip to toolbar